PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: CNC mach spindle not spinning

Bernard
09-07-2020, 01:41 PM
Hi all. I'm a new member and have just purchased a Chinese CNC 6040. Managed to do a Gcode file and got it into Mach 3. All the 3 axis are working well but the spindle is not spinning. Can someone help me. I think there is something that I did wrong in the "Config" in Mach 3. I am a novice in CNC and this is my first attempt at using one. I am into wood working as a hobby and trying to make wooden clocks. I can make them doing manual cutting with scroll saw and band saw. But that is not as accurate as using a CNC machine and it takes a lot of time and effort. Thanks for any help that is offered

Kitwn
10-07-2020, 02:56 AM
Another Australian wooden clock builder! Welcome to the forum.
I got into clocks by accident after building a Heath Robinson cnc router and wanting something to test what it could do. I'd never contemplate the tedium of cutting wheels by hand.

I seem to have spent most of my time upgrading the router, making things for my wife rather than me and have only just yesterday finished my gear cutting jig which will hopefully see a finished clock appear in the coming weeks for the first time in ages.
Are you familiar with Art Fenerty's 'Gearotic' software? Well worth a look if not.

https://www.gear2motion.com/

EDIT: Can't actually help with Mach3 questions, but you'll find plenty of people here who can.

Kit

JAZZCNC
10-07-2020, 08:29 AM