PDA

View Full Version : Vcarve pro help please: Slow jerky cutting!

Nickn
04-02-2021, 03:54 PM
Hi,

I was hoping someone on here could help me, it would be much appreciated.

I am fairly new to CNCing. I have been using vcarve pro for 3D milling from 3D stl files created in Rhino. When i import the file into vcarve it converts to a pixelated model. I set the resolution to the highest setting (50X) but it is still pixelated.

The problem I am having is when I CNC the model the cutter moves very slow in jerky movement as it cuts around the pocket for the roughing toolpath on curves and some of the finishing toolpath. Even with the feed rate at 430mm/sec. The straight cuts are fast. I assume its because the CNC is reading the jagged edges of the pixelated model and having to change direction constantly.

Is there a was I can solve this problem with a setting?

Or is it just how the program works? converting to a pixelated model? Would Rhinocam or fustion 360 work the same way?

Hope this makes sense!

Thank

Nick

Neale
05-02-2021, 09:31 AM
Part of the problem and maybe the solution lies in your motion control software. There is usually a "CV" (constant velocity) setting. If this is turned off, the machine will stop at every change of direction and then restart. With it on, the machine tries to keep up a steady cutting speed by very slightly (and generally imperceptibly) rounding off the "corners" but giving a much smoother motion. Much smoother! Anyone who has been through this will know what I mean! This explains why straight cutting is fine but highly-faceted cuts are not.