PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: New to CNC.

AndyW
07-07-2021, 01:09 PM
Hello,

I am new to the world of CNC, so have limited knowledge, and am essentially looking for advice to daft questions as I learn.
I am just completing a build of my own CNC machine based on plans from the woodsmith magazine. At this moment it's built and able to 'jog' around, which I am very proud of.

Cheers
Andy. - Knee deep in Fusion 360 and Mach3 software!

JAZZCNC
07-07-2021, 09:56 PM
Welcome, Andy,

There are No daft questions except the ones you don't ask so fire away.:thumsup:

WoodKnot
08-07-2021, 09:20 AM
Hello,

I am new to the world of CNC, so have limited knowledge, and am essentially looking for advice to daft questions as I learn.
I am just completing a build of my own CNC machine based on plans from the woodsmith magazine. At this moment it's built and able to 'jog' around, which I am very proud of.

Cheers
Andy. - Knee deep in Fusion 360 and Mach3 software!

Hi Andy W

Wow, that is one sturdy piece of kit - It looks like it weighs a tonne

WoodKnot

AndyW
08-07-2021, 03:57 PM
Hello,

Thank you for the positive response.
Yes it weighs a lot! I did manage to 3d print a few parts so that had to save at least 4grams! I was very new to the cnc world and just decided to have a go at building a machine from an article I read. It's mostly baltic birch ply. After I started to learn more I realised about 80/20 aluminium. Perhaps that will be mk2.

I am just waiting for the router bits in the post, then it will be a case of revisiting the calibration in Mach3.
I think I maybe having a unit metric vs imperial problem as I have done the sums regarding steps, revolutions and distance travelled but I am getting odd results.

Secondly, it is a nema 34 8.7nm stepper on the axis (approx 1200mm 20mm dia 5mm pitch ) looking at the x axis motor movement profile what are suitable velocity and acceleration speeds? - (a nagging thought about being mechanically sympathetic)

Thank you.
Andy.