PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Quick intro from a newbie in North Wales

Brianh
30-08-2021, 05:00 PM
Hello everyone,

I’m a hobby woodworker of many years and have decided to dive into CNC and am about to order a new machine from Ooznest. I don’t have much space so will be limited in size (750x1000mm machine). I know some members on this and other forums look down on the Ooznest as it is cheap compared to what is available for professional use and may have rigidity issues. However, they do have some good reviews and the price is affordable (just). Also a big plus is that they are in the UK where I live so just a phone call away.

As for software, I will be ordering Vetric Cut2D and may upgrade to VCarve Pro at a later date if and when I feel the need.

What do yo think? Am I making a sensible choice?

Regards

Brian

JAZZCNC
30-08-2021, 09:43 PM

Hi Brian,

Nobody can really say yes or no to that question because we each want different things from a machine. However, as you are probably aware I build and sell CNC routers (Here in Uk) so I do have a bit of a unique perspective.? And, no I'm not trying to sell anything here just passing on my experience.!

Many of the customers who have bought one of my machines started with an Ooznest or Shepoko type machine, so they are great for learning, but every one of them said the same or very similar things about them which is they are flimsy, slow, limiting and become frustrating as they tried to cut larger or better parts.

Some of them tried to improve or upgrade them but quickly realized they were flogging a dead horse as the foundations are too weak, so decided to cut their losses and buy a properly built machine. Hence coming to me.!