PDA

View Full Version : VM25L R8 mill bad noise on spindle.

Markie11
30-10-2022, 04:31 PM
Hi All
Now I’m brand new to milling and I purchased the Amadeal VM25L R8 mill. It’s brand new and unused but I’ve had it for some months. When I finally got around to testing the spindle sounded terrible.

Does it need running in, oiling or is it a bad bearing? How can I resolve this ?

Looking forward to your replies. Please see Vid.

https://youtu.be/nlyq-1dGmxs

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Lee Roberts
30-10-2022, 06:09 PM
Hi and welcome to the forum!

It sounds like a bearing problem to me, is there anyway to adjust the preload on them to check?

What has Amadeal said?

Markie11
30-10-2022, 06:21 PM
Hi and welcome to the forum!

It sounds like a bearing problem to me, is there anyway to adjust the preload on them to check?

What has Amadeal said?

Hi Lee and many thanks.

I’ve contacted Amadeal and I await their reply, hopefully they can help.

I’m not sure about being able to adjust the preload, I’m just getting used to the mill.

I’m wondering if the bearings would need some lube, again I’m not sure even if this is possible.

I will research preload.

Many thanks.

Lee Roberts
30-10-2022, 08:50 PM
Actually, dont worry about preload at the moment...

Looking at the video again, I Think i can see a belt on the silver pully, if it was me i would remove that black top plate and see whats going on under there, if you can, take the belt off and spin the spindle by hand and check that to see if there is any binding or sounds similar to the noise its making when spinning under power.

Then also check whatever connections are at the other end of the belt, presumably another pully that is connected to the motor shaft, check to see if anything that end is binding or not rotating freely like it should be?

Also, is it correct your not getting spindle speed (rpm) read out on the display as well?

Markie11
30-10-2022, 08:56 PM
Hi Lee