PDA

View Full Version : NEW MEMBER: Looking for some advice on an intermittent x axis fault

Norvic
24-06-2023, 10:04 AM
Hi I'm a furniture maker from Norfolk and long time lurker. I've been using CNC routers for about two years now.

I've got a problem with my x axis losing position or possibly binding I've had trouble actually pinning down what's causing the issue. It can happen after 10 minutes or 8 hours which has made troubleshooting difficult.

The x axis randomly loses position in both the positive or negative direction, usually by less than the distance it was suppose to move during that piece of g code. I've had no issue with the Y or Z axis and it can happen when moving just on the x axis or when multiple axis's are moving at the same time

It hasn't happened during jogging. How often it happens and by how much it loses position seems to be independent of feed rate, acceleration or step and direction pulse length settings in mach3(which is a genuine license). I've tried running it with the spindle, extraction, water pump and everything else in the workshop off and it still happens. The frame is grounded on each axis and and the spindle cable is grounded at both ends. The few times I've been there to actually see it happen, the motor makes a high pitch noise then carries on.

I've tried swapping over the stepper motor, driver and all the wiring between the stepper motor, driver and BOB. As well as using different pins on the breakout board. After swapping over the wiring the issue seems to happen a lot less often for a time then goes back to being random. I've marked the coupling where it attaches to the ball screw and motor to check for slipping and checked the balscrew for any damage.. A fresh install of mach3 and changing the kernel speed also didn't help. I've tried turning off micro stepping which is set at 10 for the other axises.