PDA

View Full Version : BUILD LOG: Planning my first CNC machine

Sharp909
03-01-2024, 10:54 AM
I'm by no means an engineer but I find myself wanting to make my own CNC machine as I cant find anything within my budget that I feel confident will do the job I want. I want to make fairly simple aluminium parts with a 0.1mm or better accuracy. In my budget it's nearly all CNC router type machines but I see many comments about the rigidity of the gantry performing 2 motions. So I came up with this idea where the gantry is only providing Z motion with the spindle supported from both sides rather than the usual 1 side. The frame work is 160 x 80 aluminium extrusion and some 20mm Aluminium plate. I could also bury the base of this design in cement/epoxy granite. I plan to use a MASSO controller. Any advice welcome.

routerdriver
03-01-2024, 10:51 PM
I think building a machine is absolutely the best way to have a full understanding of what makes it tick and wish you every success with your efforts.I do wonder if having a relatively long and quite slender axis moving across the machine as a result of the input of a single central stepper may lead to disappointment as it may tend to rack.The more usual disposition of steppers would be to have two slaved together on the gantry base and one traversing the gantry with the other driving the Z.How much Z axis travel do you need?

Sharp909
04-01-2024, 10:04 AM
I think you've misunderstood the design. The gantry doesn't move. It only provides Z axis movement. The Y axis is fixed in line with the cutting tool as it is on a normal cnc mill. This should make the machine more rigid than the typical router set up.

routerdriver
04-01-2024, 10:19 AM
I may well have misunderstood.Could you provide images with the axes,preferably labelled. at both extremities of their range?

Sharp909
04-01-2024, 12:57 PM
I may well have misunderstood.Could you provide images with the axes,preferably labelled. at both extremities of their range?