PDA

View Full Version : 2D software for newbe

dudz
05-11-2012, 03:37 PM
I have bought a Used 3 axis CNC/router. I am going to use the 2.2kw Chinese Spindle and VFD.

Please can someone advise me to which 2D design software to use with Mach3 ? I would also like to use free online Cad files to make stuff too, so I guess I need software that converts these files to G code ?
Please bear with me, I am new to CNC/router software.

I want to mill small pieces of Alu and wood and engrave some work.

wilfy
05-11-2012, 04:54 PM
this seems to be the one area thats lacking both discussions and tutorials... how do u get your drawing down and then transfer it to your machine???

Ricardoco
05-11-2012, 05:58 PM
I have bought a Used 3 axis CNC/router. I am going to use the 2.2kw Chinese Spindle and VFD.

Please can someone advise me to which 2D design software to use with Mach3 ? I would also like to use free online Cad files to make stuff too, so I guess I need software that converts these files to G code ?
Please bear with me, I am new to CNC/router software.

I want to mill small pieces of Alu and wood and engrave some work. I started using V-Carve pro which has a free download and virtual code run, to see what it will make in three Dee, as for Mach3 i just made lots of files to get the part i needed and once i was satisfied i Bought the sorfware, best thing i ever did... easy to learn how to use it ...you tube tutorials.. Magic..

Rick

Jonathan
05-11-2012, 06:09 PM
If you're after free software then for 2.5D machining and engraving then CAMbam (http://www.cambam.info/downloads/) free edition is pretty good. You'll be able to import drawings from most programs into it since it accepts .dxf format.
For more complicated 3D parts your options are more limited, CNC Toolkit (http://www.cnc-toolkit.com/) is one which can do just about anything (3D models, V-carving etc) but isn't the easiest to use.