PDA

View Full Version : Limit Switches with LED's

manofgresley
27-12-2012, 06:29 PM
Hi

Does anyone have a circuit diagram to wire Limit switches in parallel with LED indication of actuation?

Regards
Ray

Robin Hewitt
27-12-2012, 09:03 PM
As Asimov said, "Insufficient data for meaningfull answer" :whistle:

What are you plugging these here limit switches in to?

What kind of Volts and current do we have to work with and what counts as switch closed or open?

Do you want an LED at each switch or one for each axis on a box?

manofgresley
28-12-2012, 12:07 PM
Hi

Thanks for the reply, my apologies for the lack of substance, but in my defence, i am new to this world of CNC.

I intend, hopefully to install "Maximum Travel" limit switches to the X,Y & Z axis of my Hobbymat Milling machine, which i am currently converting to CNC control.

The Stepper Drivers are PM 542's and a ZP5A-INT Breakout Board, it looks like there are I/O's for 3 limit switches and a "E" stop on the Breakout board.

It would be nice to have a separate box containing the LED's and there corresponding resistors, which obviously would give an immediate visual indication as to which switch is made.

I understand so far that the Switch cables should be shielded, and the switches should be NC, i am not sure of the exact volts and current from the Breakout board, as the paperwork is not very user friendly.

If possible, it would be nice to have Green LED's that turn Red when the Limits are made.

Would i need Hard wired Limit Switches for "HOME " positioning, or leave this for Software SETTING?

Regards.

Ray

Robin Hewitt
28-12-2012, 11:35 PM
a ZP5A-INT Breakout Board, it looks like there are I/O's for 3 limit switches and a "E" stop on the Breakout board.

I'll have a guess then :beer:

wilfy
29-12-2012, 12:01 AM