PDA

View Full Version : looking for some well featured cad software around £100

jcb121
19-08-2013, 02:42 PM
So after trying a lot of cad programs like solidworks, Sketchup, Turbocad, Inventor, Autocad and some others

I've come to the conclusion that they're all horribly expensive and would take me at least a few decades of saving just to purchase them.

does anyone have any suggestions?

my budget is around £100 and maybe a bit more if it's really worth it.

it doesn't even have to be the most modern version.

but I'm also looking for software that has ok documentation and quite a following in case I need help or plugins.

it must also export to popular formats such as DXF and STL.

thanks.

while I am a student, I plan on using this software to make hopefully some money in the future so It'd be unethical to get a student version or a naughty version :watermelon:

John S
19-08-2013, 03:33 PM
Hard one this because as soon as you mention STL you are into 3D cad and 3D and cheap can't go in the same sentence.

What used to be Alibre is now Geomagic and their PE [ Personal Edition ] Which is now called Cubify, is £175 plus VAT in the UK but if you contact Geomagic in the States they will sell you a copy for a lot less or at least the same in $$.

Ring them 001 800-691-1839 and explain about being a student as I know there is a student discount and I'm sure it can be upgraded later.

Best to talk to the US in person.

I have the Pro version and saved about £600 dealing with the States.

Robin Hewitt
19-08-2013, 05:11 PM
The industry standard is AutoCAD which costs an arm and 3 legs, (too much for an individual) But there is a cheap full featured clone with a freebie trial available. Search for ProgeCAD.
I also have Alibre Pro because that is very different being a sort of cheap version of SolidWorks. The cheap version of Alibre, or whatever it calls itself, is 32 bits so you don't get multi processor 64 bit speeds.