Thread: Denford Mirac conversion help
Hybrid View
-
08-11-2016 #1
Sounds like you've got one of Denford's own DM turrets.
Is it like the diagram in this thread? - http://denfordata.com/bb/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=157
.
Having had a quick look at the wiring diagram and the description in that thread, it seems to be a case of rotate turret clockwise until position matches, then immediately reverse the turret, at which point it should lock.
Depending on how fast the turret spins, you may have a problem, as with the 10Hz macro refresh rate, you have a 100-200ms reaction delay depending on timings. However I can't find any info on the timings required, so it'll have to be a case of try it and see.
.
I've not done any Mach3 macro programming for a long time, so I'm hoping somebody will convert the following to the required Mach3 code-
Code:While (TurretPosition <> CommandedPosition) ActivateTurretCW EndWhile DeActivateTurretCW (a slight time delay may be needed here?) ActivateTurretCCW While (TurretNotLocked) (Do Nothing) EndWhile DeActivateTurretCCW
One option you do have, due to the turret using a VFD, is you could slow down the rotation to give Mach more time to respond.Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.
-
08-11-2016 #2
yes thats the turret, thanks for that.
can i make use of the rotary switch on the turret, each contact = a tool. there is also a separate micro switch to tell its locked
-
09-11-2016 #3
Yes, you could use each contact for individual tools, however if you have the diode block as shown in the Mirac 1996 wiring diagrams, it would half the number of required inputs.
.
The locked switch is also needed to check the tool change has been successful, but it should also be continually monitored to ensure the turret hasn't become unlocked when it shouldn't. In Mach3, you'd normally do that as part of the Macro Pump, but worry about getting the turret working first.Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.
-
The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:
-
09-11-2016 #4
Assuming I was to get a plc to run the turret, what would I need.
How are the input and output signals between the bob and plc achieved. I would still need a macro for mach3 wouldn't I ?
then a programme for the plc.
Think I will go sit in the corner now and rock back and forth for a while
-
10-11-2016 #5
Something with enough inputs and outputs!
I used the small Click PLC range from Automation Direct for my turret, but had to buy an additional Input/output module to get enough inputs. They also do a slightly more featured range (DL series?) that might have more inputs/outputs on the base modules.
.
Good thing about the Click range though, is the programming software is free and has no limits. The DL software has a limit on program size, above which you have to buy a license.
.
As for communicating between the PLC and controller, the less complicated option is via Modbus, but that can sometimes be problematic to setup. In my lathe, I use Modbus to transfer the desired position to the PLC, and continually read the actual position back. I then have an output from the KFlop to the PLC telling the PLC if it's ok to change position, and an output from the PLC back to the KFlop telling the KFlop that the tool changer is locked, and on the correct position. The KFlop then monitors that input, and if it deactivates when a change hasn't been requested, it triggers an E-stop.Avoiding the rubbish customer service from AluminiumWarehouse since July '13.
-
The Following User Says Thank You to m_c For This Useful Post:
-
11-11-2016 #6
Thanks again for your help, I think I will try it on a macro first. Deserves a try don't you think. Failing that a plc.
spent the last 4 or 5 nights trying to get my head round the macros, safe to say my head is fried.
cheers
-
11-11-2016 #7
this is what i ended up with, but it has no safety steps in it. any idea how i can add some
If GetSelectedTool()=GetCurrentTool() Then
End If
If GetSelectedTool =1 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig1)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =2 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig2)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =3 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig3)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =4 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig4)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =5 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig5)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =6 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig6)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =7 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig7)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
If GetSelectedTool =8 Then
ActivateSignal(Output5)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig8)
Wend
DeactivateSignal(Output5)
ActivateSignal(Output6)
While Not IsActive(oemtrig11)
Wend
Sleep 1000
DeactivateSignal(Output6)
End If
End
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 4 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 4 guests)
Similar Threads
-
Whats it worth, Denford Mirac CNC Lathe
By Dean jeffery in forum Marketplace DiscussionReplies: 4Last Post: 03-07-2014, 01:38 PM -
FOR SALE: Denford MIRAC CNC Lathe. Single Phase. Absolutely complete and perfect running order.
By Nick Butler in forum Items For SaleReplies: 19Last Post: 21-08-2013, 11:20 PM -
FOR SALE: Denford Mirac CNC Lathe with Auto Tool Changer For Sale
By CHudson in forum Items For SaleReplies: 3Last Post: 19-02-2011, 12:11 AM -
RFQ: Looking for somone to finish conversion Denford Mirac with Mach3
By CHudson in forum Projects, Jobs & RequestsReplies: 0Last Post: 14-10-2010, 08:20 PM -
Denford Mirac Electronics Refurbishment
By CHudson in forum Computer SoftwareReplies: 11Last Post: 17-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Bookmarks