. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi,

I have previously had designs on building a cnc, but various stuff cropped up & diverted me, so they never got past the design stage.
    I'm hoping to re-boot with a smaller, simpler design that i have been researching for quite a few months.

I am immediately breaking the rules as over the years I have collected various mechanical components and I have designed a machine around what I have “in stock”
    I know is the wrong way to do it, but that's just the way it is with this one, cos i'm too tight to chuck owt away!

I want to build a Fixed Gantry, Moving Table Cnc. The working area will be constrained (by the parts i have) to 350 x 350mm x 200mm(Z).
    Mainly for cutting Aluminium, but also wood & composites such as fibreglass.

Parts & Materials I already have :
    6x 20mm Misumi linear rails 580mm long
    3x 16mm, 5mm pitch NSK ballscrews with a travel of 350mm
    6mtr 200 x 75 steel C-Section
    The C-Section is parallel flange and is sturdy stuff (6mm thick with 12mm thick sides)which weighs in at about 23kg /mtr
    I realise box section is better & stiffer, but i got 6 metres of this stuff super cheap ages ago & i'm sick of falling over it!

Here are some basic renders of the initial design done with my first steps in fusion 360 (which is a great program)
    I have not gone into great detail in the cad as I don't think it's worth rendering every last detail, just the general outlines. The cad is excellent for finding interference parts & testing movement etc.

Construction of the frame will be tack welding, then lots of drilling & bolting, with brackets where needed. I only have basic hand tools & a drill press, and very little mechanical experience.
    The orange plates are 10 or 12mm ground steel gauge plate & the white parts Aluminium tooling plate. The red indicates the cutting area.