Hybrid View
-
31-12-2018 #1
-
01-01-2019 #2
Yes and no. I already have my mill up and running under linuxcnc, so I know what I’m doing with stepconfig. My lathe is just X Z steppers on the table + toolchanger. No home/limit yet. It is easier to test on PC without any inputs(homing manually in linuxcnc). All I need to know is how to implement this tool change component.
Update:
I copied file toolchanger.comp to my linuxcnc/configs/Lathe folder
Then copied Header:
################################################## #######
# .ini file for axis - ATC set up as axis A angular
################################################## #######
[AXIS_3]
...
to the end of my Lathe.ini file
Then I copied:
################################################## ########
# example Hal linkages required:-
################################################## ########
setp stepgen.3.position-scale [AXIS_3]SCALE
...
AND
################################################## #########
# loading the toolchange component in .hal file
################################################## #########
loadrt toolchanger
addf toolchanger servo-thread
...
In to my Lathe.hal file
Then I run terinal in my configs directory to compile:
sudo halcompile --install toolchanger.comp
(sudo comp --install toolchanger.comp) don’t work!
Still stuck Here when try to run linuxcnc
/Lathe_Orac.hal:87: parameter or pin ‘stepgen.3.positio-scale’ not found
-
01-01-2019 #3
When you use stepconfig it will overwrite any changes you have made. so it is best to not use it and hand edit the files after the first time setup.
I have noticed that here:-
[TRAJ]
AXES = 3
COORDINATES = X Z
you might need to make it COORDINATES = X Z A..Clive
The more you know, The better you know, How little you know
-
01-01-2019 #4
Hi. I know that stepconfig it will overwrite any changes, but before I make final setup I need to know that I’ll be able to implement this toolchanger component. Keeping it simple for now.
COORDINATES = X Z A(B,C) don’t work. Still same error message: /Lathe_Orac.hal:87: parameter or pin ‘stepgen.3.positio-scale’ not found
It would be nice if anybody who understand linuxcnc will try to implement it, and share results/knowledge. It’s time to make good deed...to please north pole for upcoming x-mass 2019
-
01-01-2019 #5..Clive
The more you know, The better you know, How little you know
-
01-01-2019 #6
Hopefully someone will try it and will help. And you don’t worry anymore. I appreciate your effort.
-
01-01-2019 #7
Thread Information
Users Browsing this Thread
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Similar Threads
-
WANTED: Boxford 190VMC toolholders, tool changer and manuals
By davethesteam in forum Items WantedReplies: 5Last Post: 06-11-2017, 11:29 AM -
WANTED: Boxford or Denford Lathe Auto Tool Changer
By DagnW in forum Items WantedReplies: 1Last Post: 27-03-2017, 10:45 PM -
Tool changer needs 100 PSI my compressor is not up to it, anyone know a good one?
By suesi34e in forum Machine DiscussionReplies: 16Last Post: 27-03-2014, 10:26 PM -
WANTED: EMCO Lathe Tool Changer
By Pete92 in forum Items WantedReplies: 0Last Post: 01-10-2013, 10:27 AM -
Automatic tool changer
By amen23 in forum Tool & Tooling TechnologyReplies: 4Last Post: 06-01-2009, 05:56 AM
Bookmarks