. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Hi,

I am kickstarting a business related to CNC plywood modular furniture. I'm a hands-on engineer by background, very practical, etc. Not an idiot. I'm providing the capital, business and other elements, but I need a London based CNC machine and expert as part of the initial development/experimentation process who will be part of the business. I'm based in Holland Park (and have been in area for 20 years). At first, the business plan is to concentrate on a small couple of designs and channels to prove the concept. If this interests you or someone, please let me know and we can discuss and meet If there is another forum that is better to put this, please also let me know.

Matthew

- - -
    . . . this should be good ...

The one´s contacting You have likely / probably never been involved in cnc business as in industrial production , ..
    You don´t indicate any areas of size, by area, size - volumetric, capacity in volume, desired area of expertise.

If YOU actually want a CNC business that makes furniture, You need a set of parameters and a fair bit of industrial education before You can make rational decisions -- with some chance of profit at the end of it.

For profitable sheet goods, you need to make stuff somewhat better than the outsourcers in the industry, +/-.
    Otherwise anyone else can make similar stuff better than You, and simply outsource the cutting, see ?

CNC is about making stuff really well, +/0, really cheap, mostly.
    This is not related or conductive to hobby CNC.

The ones making money with CNC both users and utilisers, have excellent machines, some of them hobby cnc, some of them scratch built.
    Scratch built machines can cost 50-100k$ for a good one.

If You wanna make e.g. yacht stuff and or heirloom furniture You have a chance because the net cost of the cnc cutting is less than 2% of the cost of the product.