. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hi all, I purchased a Boxford 125 TCL (Mach3 conversion) a little while back with the intention of also buying a Milling machine which has also been converted to Mach3 so I could have a little home machining setup. When I got the 125 TCL home I plugged it all in and ensured everything was working as it should (X/Z axis’ & spindle), and all was fine (I also have a YouTube video demonstrating it working from the seller), so I left it dormant for a little while until I found the free time to delve deeper

So i recently decided it’s time to start cutting some material and I’m a CNC machinist by trade so the programming side is no issue. So I fired the lathe up and homes the X & Z axis, however when I tried to command the spindle to rotate with a simple “M03 S1000” command, nothing happened. I’m not sure if I was in the correct Mach3 profile at the time, but wether I was or not is irrelevant now as I’ve tampered with the settings so need to go back to basics. I’ve read all sorts for forums and scoured through a multitude of YouTube videos trying different values in ports and pins but so far I’ve had no success

To be clear, I have no experience with the internal workings of these machines although I am somewhat familiar with basic electronics, and I am just getting to grips with Mach3. Along my research and peering inside the machine I kind of figured out the basics going off the control board and I understand how the pins correlate to the inputs within Ports and Pins, although there are 25 pins on the data cable and only 16 inputs on the board. Besides that my findings for the control board are as follows:

1. (I think this feeds to the spindle relay but not 100%)
    2. X-axis +
    3. X-axis -
    4. (Empty)
    5. (Empty)
    6. Z-axis +
    7. Z-axis -
    8. (Small cable feeding into another board, which is labelled “step”)
    9. (Empty)
    10. Kill switch
    11. X-axis limit switch