. .
    Hi All,

I'm completely new to CNC. I've been toying with the idea of getting a benchtop CNC machine for a while. Had a bit of a bonus from work, so went ahead last week and bought a Genmitsu ProverXL4030. It fits the space i have perfectly.

Built it Thursday and made some simple test cuts yesterday. Planning to do more today. Just getting my head around the various CNC bits - any recommendations?

I'm planning on using Carveco Maker and Candle or UGS. What software do you guys use for design / control?

My main areas of interest will be woodworking jigs, gifts, boxes, inlays, signs and the like.

Looking forward to learning plenty from here, and eventually contributing where I can.

Apologies in advance for the daft questions I will undoubtedly raise (I will search the forums first ).

Ian

Hi Ian, welcome to the forum!

How you getting on with the Genmitsu Prover, for bits/cutters I use some from Aliexpress by a brand called XCAN, seem to work pretty well for me :)

No such as thing as daft - we all start somewhere.
    .Me

Hi Lee,

Thanks for the welcome.

I'm getting on with it OK. I found that the stock spindle and speeds I could get were slow for me. I upgraded the spindle last weekend to a dewalt D26200 and it is much faster now. Made a couple of items yesterday (bit tray and a house sign) and much happier with the speed.

Currently getting to grips with Carveco before my trail period runs out and i decide whether to stick with it.

What are other users using for (hobbyist use / price) software?

Quote Originally Posted by IDF769 View Post
    What are other users using for (hobbyist use / price) software?
    Welcome Ian.

Software is a tricky one. It very much depends on use case - I tend do do the more woodworky / inlays type projects and use Vectric Aspire 95% of the time. They've now split the product line up, so Vectric Cut 2D is probably what I'd suggest you try.