Hi all.

I'm an absolute beginner with CNC, but have been that impressed and blown away by some of the home builds out there that I feel I must have a go at it. Of course, I'd like to set my sights high, but even if all I manage to cut out is a circle or a square then I'll be very happy..! My engineering experience is very limited but, in my favour, I'm reasonably good with my hands and like to do things 'properly'.

I've got a whole heap of questions (somehow answers seem to lead to more of 'em...) but I guess I have to start somewhere so here's my proposed concept (feel free to tear it apart..!):

The build will be based around 50mm square section aluminium extrusions (3mm wall).

I mostly intend to cut wood.

I'd like the cutting area to be around 450x550mm with a minimum plunge of around 60mm.

I'm fairly aware that I may well end up 'over-engineering' this, but would rather end up with a machine that's sturdy, even if it costs me a bit more. I'm budgeting on around £1-1.5k for the parts (extrusions/motors/spindle/rails/lead-screws/support bearings etc.) +electronics +software on top of that.

I'm more interested in repeatability and precision than outright speed.

Motion will be via 12mm lead screws (3mm pitch) ACME nuts (possibly pillow block ACME nuts for the Y & Z) all driven directly by steppers.

The gantry will ride on blocks/rails.

You can see what I'm thinking in the following clip:

Both the gantry and the Z-box will be made of chunky aluminium u-channel with side plates held in place by the tension from the nuts holding the guide rails in place. Again, here's a clip to illustrate what I mean: