. .
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lives in London, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 12-03-2013 Has been a member for 8-9 years. Has a total post count of 7.
    Hello all, I'm new to this forum. I'm building my first CNC related machine, and I hope I'll be able to learn from and contribute to this forum!

My first question is as stated in the title: What is the function of a parallel port breakout board?

As far as I can tell, the board will allow easier access to the pins, and protection for the PC in the form of isolation. However, most good quality servo/stepper drivers already seem to come with built-in opto-isolators. Having two opto-isolators seems redundant and possibly even detrimental to performance.

I have no experience using the parallel port for such controls, though I have experience with robotics, electronics and programming. Please enlighten me!

Thank you.

Hon

It is as you say an easier way to gain access to the port pins. Loads of different boards available, some with opto isolation some without, same with drivers although as you say a lot of drivers now have them built in.
    Most boards will not only give you an easy connection to the drivers but also have other functions like spindle isolation, inputs for things like E stop & limit switches all using different pins.

Lives in London, United Kingdom. Last Activity: 12-03-2013 Has been a member for 8-9 years. Has a total post count of 7.
    Thanks! Do the boards somehow increase the number of inputs available? Perhaps by multiplexing? I'll be using LinuxCNC, and the documentation doesn't seem to be very comprehensive.